Manchester United submitted a 25-man Europa League squad earlier this week, but there can be alterations before each of our Group E games. There were additions to the B list in advance of the 20:00 BST kick-off against Real Sociedad – Radek Vitek, Tyler Fredricson, Kobbie Mainoo, Zidane Iqbal, Shola Shoretire and Zidane Iqbal, while Anthony Elanga also fits into this category. No club may have more than 25 players on the A list and a minimum of eight spots are allocated exclusively to locally trained players, with a maximum of four of these classified as association-trained.

A club-trained player who, between the age of 15 and 21, irrespective of nationality and age, has been registered with his current club for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons, according to UEFA rules. An association-trained player is somebody who, between the age of 15 and 21, has been registered with a club or other clubs affiliated to the relevant national championship for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons.

Clubs can register an unlimited number of players to the B list during the campaign but these must be submitted by no later than midnight CET on the day before the game in question. Those eligible must be born on or after 1 January 2001 and, since their 15th birthday, have been eligible to play for the club for any uninterrupted period of two years or a total of three consecutive years with a maximum of one loan period to a side from the same association for a period not longer than one year.

Sixteen-year-olds can be registered if they have been at the club for the previous two years, without interruption. When it comes to the knockout stages of the competition, clubs may register a maximum of three new eligible players for the remaining games, completed by 2 February at the latest. These players can already have appeared in a UEFA competition this season but the maximum limit of a 25-man A list remains, while respecting the quota of locally trained players.